#4 – (Anti)theses

Standard

Issues and controversy are everywhere. No matter where you are, who you are talking to, or what you are doing, there will always be a subject that comes up about which someone disagrees with you. While debate is sometimes frustrating, it is what makes the world develop and progress. For me personally, there have recently been several instances in my courses here at the University of Michigan where issues have been raised. The topic that predominantly comes to mind when I think about controversy is regarding politics in my political science contemporary issues class.

This class, as you could probably guess, involves matters that are very current and relevant, and that both the professor and the students are extremely passionate about. So far, the main subject that we have discussed so far has been the economy and the current recession that the United States is in. My professor and the majority of the students in my lecture are hard-core liberals and they support the thesis that in order to help the economy and progress the United States, taxes should be raised on the wealthier Americans and more government sponsored social programs should be enacted. Several other similar statements and theses have been discussed in class, but I want to talk about this one in particular, as I feel that it is the one that has raised the most debate and sparked the most controversy in my eyes. While the majority of people in my class think that raising taxes and funding government programs would be a positive thing for the country, I wholly believe the opposite.

My antithesis to this is that for the United States economy to rebound and for the country to proceed forward, taxes should not be raised, and should even be cut a little for definitely the upper class, but for everyone overall. In addition to the lowering of taxes, federal programs, such as Social Security, Medicare, and Medicaid, must also be cut and lessened for everyone.

I can easily make this argument and lay out this antithesis. However, if I truly wanted to convince someone that I was right (or wrong), I would definitely need some research and fact to back me up. If I did not have any evidence to support my antithesis and prove the thesis wrong, then my argument would seem invalid and most readers would automatically believe the thesis, which has research behind it.

Like Steven Krause said in his essay, “On the Other Hand”, you cannot make everyone believe what you want them to believe. No matter how good of an argument you make or how much hard evidence you have to support your thesis, people believe what they want to believe. People’s opinions are what makes everyone unique and they help make this world so diverse and ever-evolving.

Leave a Reply

